Pop Culture With A Metal Filter. Take a look at the world of pop culture through the eyes of heavy metal fans. Music, movies, comics, video games, TV shows, fashion, drinks, sports, toys, etc.

THESE ARE THEY Release Third Studio Album


Chicago Death Metal supergroup THESE ARE THEY have retooled and resurfaced to present their third studio release ‘At The Feast Of Seven Funerals’, out now via Unruly Sounds / The End Records.

“This is pure old school Chicago Death Metal. No tender moments here, only pure aggression!” – Paul Kuhr

“Delving into Death Metal’s somewhat uncharted topical waters, we created a Dark Tale of 19th Century America. At the Feast of Seven Funerals will follow an unwanted omen of a Gunfighter named Lucius Mortimer, a man consigned to his tomb.” – Steve Nicholson

“At the feast will pound aggression into you with blast beats, shredding guitar riffs, brutal vocals, wicked bass runs and classic guitar solos. This album has it all…” – Justin Jurgevich

In addition to the core writing team of vocalist, Paul Kuhr (Novembers Doom), guitarist Steve Nicholson (Formerly of Novembers Doom) and guitarist Justin Jurgevich (Formerly of Hurtlocker), the band now includes bassist Mike Flaherty (Formerly of Loudmouth) and drummer Tony Bettenhausen (Formerly of Hurtlocker).

Encompassing a faster and more aggressive approach than previous efforts, At the Feast of Seven Funerals, pushes the band forward in its experimentation, musicianship and overall production.

“Disposing of Betrayers was a big leap forward for us, defining our own sound. With At the Feast of Seven Funerals, we wanted to take a step further into the aggression, and to stand out among our peers. I believe we succeeded in this. Following a concept driven album like the past releases, At the Feast of Seven Funerals deals with the American West in the 1800’s, as the concept and story was conceived through the mind of Steven Nicholson. This is pure old school CHICAGO DEATH METAL.” – Paul Kuhr

Recorded at Belle City Sound in Racine, Wisconsin, the engineering behind the album was handled once again by Chris Wisco with mixing and mastering duties being delegated to Sweden’s Dan Swanö of Unisound Studios.


1. Hell Rides at Dawn
2. Palace of Sin
3. Sixth Shot For the Mortician
4. Gospel of a Bullet
5. Penelope Dies
6. Steeple of Blood
7. Feat of Seven Funerals
8. Hangman’s Knot
9. Buried Neath the Willows


Leave a Reply