Pop Culture With A Metal Filter. Take a look at the world of pop culture through the eyes of heavy metal fans. Music, movies, comics, video games, TV shows, fashion, drinks, sports, toys, etc.

September Mourning Release Lyric Video, To Appear At Comic Con

September Mourning have unveiled an animated lyric video for “Skin and Bones,” the first single off their upcoming Sumerian Records debut Volume II, out July 29th.

“Skin and Bones is about self awareness and personal strength against those who bully or negatively affect you. People often judge you by the way you look, and they don’t take the time to find out who you are,” says front woman Emily Lazar (aka “September Mourning”). “When that type of negativity beats you down psychologically to the point your ego is severely wounded, it’s really hard to fight back. This song is very much about being strong enough within the core of who you are so that those things can never affect you.”

The track features Jinxx of Black Veil Brides on violin.

Check out “Skin and Bones” here:

Physical pre-orders are now available at www.sumerianmerch.com along with digital pre-orders on iTunes, Amazon and Google Play.

The brainchild of Lazar and acclaimed American comic book artist and publisher Marc Silvestri (X-Men, Witchblade, The Darkness), September Mourning’s Volume II picks up where 2015’s self-released EP Volume I left off.

Like it’s predecessor, Volume II will be accompanied by the second issue of September Mourning’s comic book series on Top Cow Productions.

September Mourning will promote the new album and comic book with an appearance on Top Cow Productions’ panel at San Diego Comic-Con on Saturday, July 23 at 11am pst.

“For me, the project is a story, a theatrical art piece. Music is the backbone, but for this to work, it has to include the imagery and the narrative all symbiotically linked into the whole,” explains Lazar.

“Volume II is a continuation of the first step in our journey which began with our self released EP, Volume I and A Murder of Reapers, the first issue of our comic book. Volume II follows our hero, September Mourning’s tale throughout the second issue of the comic book entitled, The Hand of Fate. Both forms of media intertwine to create a musical and visual story mosaic for your eyes and ears. Although September’s character is fictional, both the emotional landscape of the music and the message behind her lyric come from a very vulnerable place inside of me. In this album, I intertwined these supernatural characters with my own very real, relatable thoughts and feelings. There are pieces of myself magnified in every dynamic shift and bombastic hook in this album and you feel that when you listen. The world that’s created promises you an epic ride.”

Having performed at large festivals like Rock on the Range and Download Festival and shared the stage with acts like Marilyn Manson, Otep and Avatar, September Mourning has already built up an impressive fan base, which Lazar calls her “Children of Fate,” constantly encouraging them to have “the courage to embrace their passion… to allow yourself to follow your heart and not be a slave to your fears. To know that the only boundaries that exist in our lives are the ones we allow.”

September Mourning will tour consistently worldwide throughout 2016 and into 2017 in support of the new album. The band will perform at Texas Mutiny on Sept. 24 in Dallas, as well as Houston Open Air on Sept. 25.


Track Listing:

1. The Collection

2. Angels To Dust

3. Eye of the Storm

4. Before The Fall

5. Children of Fate

6. Skin and Bones

7. 20 Below

8. Heart Can Hold

9. Superhuman

10. Live Like You’re Alive

11. Stand By Me

12. Til You See Heaven


September Mourning is:

September Mourning

September Mourning online:



Sumerian Records

Comments are closed.