Pop Culture With A Metal Filter. Take a look at the world of pop culture through the eyes of heavy metal fans. Music, movies, comics, video games, TV shows, fashion, drinks, sports, toys, etc.

MYSTICUM releases new album


Norway’s Mysticum has released its long-awaited second album Planet Satan today via Peaceville. Planet Satan can be purchased now via iTunes at: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/planet-satan/id925725026, Amazon.com at: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N9MIZ3U/ref=dm_ws_ps_cdp?ie=UTF8&s=music and through the Peaceville web-store at: https://www.burningshed.com/store/peaceville/. The band has also released a limited edition t-shirt to coincide with the release at: https://www.burningshed.com/store/peaceville/multiproduct/261/4838/.


A Planet Satan album trailer can be seen on YouTube at: http://youtu.be/uHSYB2OjyIA.


A new track, “LSD,” is streaming on Soundcloud at: https://soundcloud.com/peaceville/mysticum-lsd-from-planet-satan.
A band that achieved almost mythical status in black metal lore, Planet Satan follows Mysticum’s debut release, 1996’s In the Streams of Inferno, and unifies the core trio of Herr General Cerastes, Svartravn and DrBest.


A work of intense and otherworldly black metal power injected with Mysticum’s strong cosmic, satanic and psychedelic overtones, Planet Satan welcomes Mysticum to the new millennium with full and unrelenting force, whilst retaining the core elements which made the Norwegian band a pioneering legend of industrial black metal. Both infernal and nihilistic, as well as apocalyptic in its scope and execution, Planet Satan is a new milestone for the genre in its sublime, chaotic ferocity. Primitive minor-chord riff patterns and tortured vocals mixed with the band’s manic and often unconventional programmed drum beats makes this an eerily hypnotic work of the darkest order.
Planet Satan was recorded and mixed at Fias Co. Studios with producer Sverre Dæhli and mastered by Tom Kvålsvoll at Strype Audio in Oslo.



  1. LSD
  2. Annihilation
  3. Far
  4. The Ether
  5. Fist of Satan
  6. All Must End
  7. Cosmic Gun
  8. Dissolve to Impiety


Emerging in the early 1990’s, Mysticum brought to the world a completely unique brand of psychedelic discordant black metal with insane drum machine patterns and synths. The group was originally signed to Euronymous’ Deathlike Silence Productions label, such was his belief in the band. However, this venture proved to be cut short following his death, forcing Mysticum to look elsewhere for the release of their eventual debut album, In the Streams of Inferno.
Stay tuned for more information on Mysticum and Planet Satan, out now on Peaceville Records.

Mysticum online…





Leave a Reply