Pop Culture With A Metal Filter. Take a look at the world of pop culture through the eyes of heavy metal fans. Music, movies, comics, video games, TV shows, fashion, drinks, sports, toys, etc.

MISERY KILLS (formerly MISERY) Premieres New Song


The members of New York City metal/hardcore act MISERY KILLS (formerly known as MISERY) are thrilled to premiere the song, ’13 Miles’, today at Revolvermag.com.

The new track is from the group’s forthcoming full-length album, My Ugly Insides, the inaugural release under the new band name which is scheduled for release January 20, 2015.


“Lyrically ’13 Miles’ is about the unfortunate person that can’t catch a break, has no luck, nothing ever goes his or her way,” says vocalist John LoCasto. “Some people say I think negatively, I say I think reality. Who says metal is suppose to be comforting, but it is our therapy.”

Engineered and produced by long-time friend Joey Z (Life of Agony, Stereomud), who also produced MISERY’s 2008 independent release – 15 Years of Aggression, and 2011’s Evil is Crowned, My Ugly Insides offers eleven tracks in total.

“Working with Joey Z is just so natural for us now,” says John’s brother/bassist Joe LoCasto. “We’ve done three full lengths and a few demos with him behind the board now so he’s kind of like a sixth member at this point. Joey knows our band inside and out and knows how to pull the best of that New York attitude out of us.”

Assembled in the early new millennium, founders/brothers – vocalist John and Joe LoCasto (bass), through their shared love for the metal/hardcore genre teamed up with longtime friends Corey Schaefer (guitar) and Scott Borrero (drums), and guitar tech turned full-time guitarist Duane Conlon.

Citing influences such as hardcore heavyweights and New York area brethren – Madball and Sick of it All – to the commercial metal sounds of Pantera and Guns N’ Roses, MISERY KILLS has successfully amalgamated influence with vision and perseverance to create one hell of a comeback record.

As MISERY the group reached many milestones, which included climbing to the FMQB Top 10 and CMJ charts, and with a big push from Jose Mangin (Sirius XM’s Liquid Metal), the band built a solid following by touring relentlessly earning an invitation to tour the east coast with their hometown heroes and metal greats – Life of Agony as well as sharing the stage with DevilDriver, Kittie and Kataklysm for their first ever full US tour.

To commemorate the new release, the band will host their record release show Saturday, January 10, 2015 at Grizzly’s Sports Den in Bay Shore, NY with special guests Torrential Downpour.


My Ugly Insides Track List:

  1. Eight Fortysix Thirty
  2. Eyes Wide Open
  3. Poltroon
  4. 13 Miles
  5. Last Chance
  6. Drama Queen
  7. Kills My Day
  8. Sick Around You
  9. White Trash
  10. Give Em’ Hell
  11. My Ugly Insides


Check out the album trailer for My Ugly Insides HERE


For more information:

Official Website



Leave a Reply