Pop Culture With A Metal Filter. Take a look at the world of pop culture through the eyes of heavy metal fans. Music, movies, comics, video games, TV shows, fashion, drinks, sports, toys, etc.

LARS ERIC MATTSSON Release No Surrender 25th Anniversary


‘No Surrender – 25th Anniversary is a re-recorded/remixed version Lars Eric Mattsson’s second album originally released in 1989 to celebrate 25 years since its original release. This new version sees all vocals and guitars being re-recorded with the addition of a previously unreleased bonus track written in 1989 intended for the original release but which was never used.

‘No Surrender’ is classic hard rock fused with neo-classical metal all with the unique Lars Eric Mattsson flavour. Whilst the song writing might not be as advanced as more recent efforts released under the Mattsson name such as “Dreamchild” and “War”, this is a slice of history which shows an artist that has continued to grow over the years since its initial release.

This album has been released in a number of different versions sice it’s original release, 12 track vinyl (1989), two different CD mixes for Europe and Japan in 1989, Taiwanese and Russian editions, a special “No Surrender + Live” in 2009 as well as this which sees new vocals and a better audio quality added.lity songs now making up the two albums “Hot and Able (1983-85” and “Let Me Rock You (1984-87)”

Production, Mixing and Mastering by Lars Eric Mattsson.
All music and lyrics written by Lars Eric Mattsson, except for “Menuet” J S Bach.
Written and originally recorded 1989, remixed for this release June-July 2014.


01. Introduction.
02. Tear Down the Border.
03. Lady Luck.
04. Since Love Died.
05. Crocodile Walk.
06. Just to Survive.
07. Chasing Shadows.
08. Menuet.
09. Proud and Free.
10. Midnight Train.
11. Lady Death.
12. The Magician.
13. When Silence Came to Remain.
14. Third Circle
15. The Stranger.
16. Never Coming Home (2014 Bonus Track)


Lars Eric Mattsson – Guitars, Bass, backing Vocals.
Lars Eric Mattsson- Lead Vocals
Eddie Sledgehammer – Drums




Leave a Reply