Pop Culture With A Metal Filter. Take a look at the world of pop culture through the eyes of heavy metal fans. Music, movies, comics, video games, TV shows, fashion, drinks, sports, toys, etc.

IRON MAIDEN To Release New Double Album Recorded Differently Than Usual


IRON MAIDEN’s new studio album “The Book Of Souls” will be released globally on 4th September through Parlophone Records (Sanctuary Copyrights/BMG in the U.S.A.). It was recorded in Paris with their longstanding producer Kevin “Caveman” Shirley in late 2014, with the finishing touches added earlier this year. The band delayed the album release to give vocalist Bruce Dickinson time to recover from his cancer scare before needing to be involved in touring plans, release related press, etc.

“The Book Of Souls” cover art was created by Mark Wilkinson who has worked with the band previously on “Iron Maiden Live at Donnington”, “The Wicker Man”, “Out of the Silent Planet” and “Eddie’s Archive Box Set”.

Since “The Book Of Souls” is an 11 track album that has a total running time of 92 minutes, IRON MAIDEN is releasing their first ever double studio album to contain all of the metal.

We mentioned that this album was recorded differently and one of the differences is that the song-writing on “The Book Of Souls” was a much more cooperative effort than ever before. Founding member Steve Harris contributed to seven of the tracks; 6 of them with Maiden’s guitarists and one sole composition. This is also the first time since 1984’s Powerslave that an IRON MAIDEN studio album also features two tracks written solely by Bruce Dickinson, one of which is the longest song Maiden has ever recorded! There are also two Dickinson/Smith collaborations on “The Book Of Souls”. The other difference is that a lot of the songs were written in the studio and immediately recorded.

Bassist Steve Harris explains:

“We approached this album in a different way to how we’ve recorded previously. A lot of the songs were actually written while we were there in the studio and we rehearsed and recorded them straight away while they were still fresh, and I think that immediacy really shows in the songs, they have almost a live feel to them I think. I’m very proud of The Book Of Souls, we all are, and we can’t wait for our fans to hear it, and especially to take it out on the road next year!”

Vocalist Bruce Dickinson has this to say:

“We’re really excited about The Book Of Souls and had a fantastic time creating it. We started working on the album in late summer 2014 and recorded it at Guillame Tell Studios in Paris, where we’d done the Brave New World album back in 2000 so the studio holds special memories for all of us. We were delighted to discover the same magical vibe is still alive and very much kicking there! So we immediately felt at home and the ideas just started flowing. By the time we’d finished we all agreed that each track was such an integral part of the whole body of work that if it needed to be a double album, then double its going to be!”


Track listing:
Disc 1
1. If Eternity Should Fail (Dickinson) 8:28
2. Speed Of Light (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:01
3. The Great Unknown (Smith/ Harris) 6:37
4. The Red And The Black (Harris) 13:33
5. When The River Runs Deep (Smith/ Harris) 5:52
6. The Book Of Souls (Gers/ Harris) 10:27

Disc 2
7. Death Or Glory (Smith/ Dickinson) 5:13
8. Shadows Of The Valley (Gers/ Harris) 7:32
9. Tears Of A Clown (Smith/ Harris) 4:59
10. The Man Of Sorrows (Murray/ Harris) 6:28
11. Empire Of The Clouds (Dickinson) 18:01

2CD deluxe hardbound book limited edition
2CD standard edition
Triple heavyweight black vinyl
High res audio (24-bit Mastered for ITunes and non-Mastered for iTunes)
Standard res audio (16 bit/ 44.1 kHz)

“The Book Of Souls” is album number 16 for IRON MAIDEN and their first studio release since 2010’s “The Final Frontier” which sold over 90 million copies worldwide.


Comments are closed.