Pop Culture With A Metal Filter. Take a look at the world of pop culture through the eyes of heavy metal fans. Music, movies, comics, video games, TV shows, fashion, drinks, sports, toys, etc.

CRADLE OF FILTH Discusses “Hammer Of The Witches” Artwork


Barbarous hellhound, Cradle of Filth, will release its forthcoming album, Hammer of the Witches, on July 10 via Nuclear Blast. In anticipation of the release, the band’s verbose mouthpiece of Hell, Dani Filth, tells us a bit more about the album artwork in a new teaser video at: http://youtu.be/fL6jInrLTBA.

The artwork was created by Arthur Berzinsh (http://www.berzinsh.lv) who is best known for his defiant neo-symbolism raster graphics and oil paintings, postmodern interpretations of classic myths and refined hooliganism in the playground of contemporary art. He has been proclaimed as a ‘sacred monster of Latvian postmodernism.’ And rightly so, his visually expressive and mannerly works tend to trigger emotions which can make thoughts fidget and wriggle, unable to find a comfortable position among the impressions gathered. His creative work is characterized by a varied range of voluptuous erotica, intensified imagery, dream-like scenes and decorativeness weighed down by visual metaphors and contrasts teetering on the edge of symbolism.

The band’s highly anticipated and caliginous creation, Hammer of the Witches, was brought to fruition in Britain’s Witch County, in darkest rural Suffolk at the reputedly haunted Grindstone Studios. The album’s title is named after the ‘Malleus Maleficarum,’ a medieval document of guidelines regarding the persecution and torture of witches – but Cradle of Filth’s title version is more retributory: It’s the Hammer of the Witches; the hammer is in the witches’ hands and it’s payback time.

Hammer of the Witches will be the first Nuclear Blast album to have a global release date.

It can be pre-ordered now in a variety of formats at: http://nblast.de/COFHammerNB.


  1. Walpurgis Eve
  2. Yours Immortally…
  3. Enshrined in Crematoria
  4. Deflowering the Maidenhead, Displeasuring the Goddess
  5. Blackest Magick in Practice
  6. The Monstrous Sabbat (Summoning the Coven)
  7. Hammer of the Witches
  8. Right Wing of the Garden Triptych
  9. The Vampyre at My Side
  10. Onward Christian Soldiers
  11. Blooding the Hounds of Hell

Bonus Tracks:

  1. King of the Woods
  2. Misericord

Watch the first single and video, “Right Wing of the Garden Triptych,” censored version on YouTube at: https://youtu.be/t2Y4uZ0rnRk. Watch the uncensored version over on Vimeo at: https://vimeo.com/nuclearblasteurope/coftryptich.

The official video for “Right Wing of the Garden Triptych” was filmed in an old jet-engine testing hangar at a former military base and was directed by Sam Scott-Hunter (Devilment, Slipknot, The 69 Eyes), who also took the band’s promotional photos. As well as featuring Dani Filth and his troop of reprobates, model and Kinbaku enthusiast Gestalta also makes an appearance. Watch how the idea came about and what the band had to say about the video here: https://youtu.be/LU_Rv9AUUCY.

Front man Dani Filth commented on the making of the video: “The video for ‘Right Wing Of The Garden Triptych’ was an immense thrill to film as it was undertaken in a jet-engine testing hangar at a former U.S. Military base close to my home town of Ipswich, followed by an equally surreal afternoon spent under the aerobatic flightpath of the Imperial War Museum. Directed by Sam Scott-Hunter, the video is a realized phantasmagoria of horror and hell-bound heartistry, fully encapsulating the beautality of the first single from ‘Hammer Of The Witches,’ and if my flagrant play-on-words doesn’t pique your interest, then the fact that it features a renowned rope bondage queen and the band in full swing just possibly might.”

An additional teaser video of Dani and his filthy cohorts discussing the writing of the album can be seen online at: http://youtu.be/u3lNhek-hjs

Cradle of Filth is…

Dani Filth – vocals

Richard Shaw – guitars

Ashok – guitars

Daniel Firth – bass

Lindsay Schoolcraft – keys

Martin Skaroupka – drums


Cradle of Filth online…




Stay tuned for more information on Cradle of Filth and Hammer of the Witches, out next month on Nuclear Blast.

Comments are closed.