Pop Culture With A Metal Filter. Take a look at the world of pop culture through the eyes of heavy metal fans. Music, movies, comics, video games, TV shows, fashion, drinks, sports, toys, etc.

Books [ 81 ]

Hal Leonard Launches New Riff Notes Series

Hal Leonard Launches New Riff Notes Series

Hal Leonard has published Riff Notes, a series of quick, easy, and informative single-topic guides for novice and experienced players alike. These guides explain in less than 30 pages, all the basics needed to make an informed decision on which guitar and which strings are right for you. The authors have both worked on the floor of Guitar Center, helping customers make purchasing decisions every day. Along the way, they discovered that many people had the same questions. The Riff […]

Preview Of Brandon Sanderson’s New Book In The Reckoners Series ‘Firefight’

Preview Of Brandon Sanderson’s New Book In The Reckoners Series ‘Firefight’

Brandon Sanderson, the number one New York Times best-selling author of Words of Radiance, co-author of Robert Jordan’s Wheel of Time series, and creator of the internationally best-selling Mistborn Trilogy, presents the second book in the Reckoners series: Firefight, the sequel to the #1 best seller Steelheart (also narrated by MacLeod Andrews). Newcago is free. They told David it was impossible, that even the Reckoners had never killed a High Epic. Yet Steelheart – invincible, immortal, unconquerable – is dead. […]

SQP Release New Adult Art Book ‘Sugar And Spice’

SQP Release New Adult Art Book ‘Sugar And Spice’

Fans of “Hot Charlotte” and “Pandamonia” know and love his work, but this overview of artist/creator Vincenzo Cucca’s will bring everyone up to speed! His illustrations are luscious and his ladies are bountiful (always a delightful combination!) Sugar, spice, everything VERY nice indeed! 48 pages in full color. $14.95 ISBN 978-0-86562-243-2 These are the latest in a  WIDE SPECTRUM of fantasy, erotic, and pin-up artwork that’s celebrated and published by SQP Art Books. For a full dive into a pool […]

A Rock & Roll Doctor’s Prescription for Living a Long Healthy Life

A Rock & Roll Doctor’s Prescription for Living a Long Healthy Life

With dozens of sidebars featuring advice and testimonials drawn from exclusive interviews with such artists as Steven Tyler, Dave Navarro, Tommy Lee, Eve, and members of Megadeth, Def Leppard, Anthrax, and many more, The Rockstar Remedy is a fun, celebrity-laced approach that really works-even for those who like to party like a rock star. We’ve all wondered how rockstars balance such a demanding lifestyle and still manage to stay in amazing shape and stay healthy. No one knows this best […]

Inside Story of the First Two Decades Of Guitar Player Magazine

Inside Story of the First Two Decades Of Guitar Player Magazine

Guitar Player: The Inside Story of the First Two Decades of the Most Successful Guitar Magazine Ever Edited by Jim Crockett and Dara Crockett Foreword by Joe Satriani Guitar Player: The Inside Story of the First Two Decades of the Most Successful Guitar Magazine Ever is a reflection on Guitar Player‘s often pioneering early days, from its 1967 founding through its 1989 sale by founder Bud Eastman and editor/publisher Jim Crockett. This book looks at the magazines evolution from a […]

Moonshine Nation: Recipes, History, Moonshiner Profiles

Moonshine Nation: Recipes, History, Moonshiner Profiles

The definitive book on moonshine has just been released–Moonshine Nation: The Art of Creating Cornbread in a Bottle.  Written by Mark Spivak and released by Lyons Press, the first half of the book traces the history of moonshine from the Whiskey Rebellion of 1791-94 through the present day. The second half profiles modern, legal moonshiners that Spivak met during the year he spent travelling through Kentucky, Tennessee and the Carolinas, doing research for the book. “Modern day moonshiners are amazing […]

Zen and the Art of Recording Book Published

Zen and the Art of Recording Book Published

Hal Leonard Books, the musician’s best source of books on the music business, audio technology, instrument history, and more, has published Zen and the Art of Recording, the third installment in Mixerman’s “Art Of” series of books. The entire series, which also includes Zen and the Art of Producing, Zen and the Art of Mixing, and The Daily Adventures of Mixerman, is now available both in print and in multimedia e-book format with over an hour of bonus video content […]

JOE PERRY To Make Personal Phone Call To One Lucky Winner Of Social Media Contest

JOE PERRY To Make Personal Phone Call To One Lucky Winner Of Social Media Contest

Calling all AEROSMITH fans. How does a phone call from JOE PERRY sound? The New York Times best-selling author is staging a social media contest whereby one lucky winner will receive a personal, five-minute phone call from the AEROSMITH co-founder.  To qualify for the contest, entrants need to pose holding their copy of ROCKS: My Life In and Out of Aerosmith, show where they display it in your home, lean it against their favorite guitar, let their pet curl up […]

Hal Leonard Publishes ‘The Fender Archives’ Book

Hal Leonard Publishes ‘The Fender Archives’ Book

Hal Leonard Books, the musician’s best source of books on the music business, audio technology, instrument history, and more, has published The Fender Archives: A Scrapbook of Artifacts, Treasures, and Inside Information. Written by Tom Wheeler with foreword by legendary guitarist James Burton, The Fender Archives is part history, part archive, part scrapbook, and part treasure chest, telling the story of an American icon through it’s rich past. In The Fender Archives, Wheeler takes the reader on a research expedition, […]

Star Wars Tarkin – New Book Now Available

Star Wars Tarkin – New Book Now Available

Bestselling Star Wars™ veteran James Luceno gives Grand Moff Tarkin the Star Wars: Darth Plagueis treatment, bringing a legendary character from A New Hope to full, fascinating life. About the Book: He’s the scion of an honorable and revered family. A dedicated soldier and distinguished legislator. Loyal proponent of the Republic and trusted ally of the Jedi Order. Groomed by the ruthless politician and Sith Lord who would be Emperor, Governor Wilhuff Tarkin rises through the Imperial ranks, enforcing his authority ever more mercilessly […]