Pop Culture With A Metal Filter. Take a look at the world of pop culture through the eyes of heavy metal fans. Music, movies, comics, video games, TV shows, fashion, drinks, sports, toys, etc.

American Gods hitting your Comic Book Store March 15, 2017

American GodsNeil Gaiman‘s American Gods will be hitting your comic book store shelves March 15, 2017. If you are anything like we are, you have been waiting for this since the news came out back in October that Dark Horse would be publishing American Gods.

Dark Horse tapped P. Craig Russell (The Sandman: The Dream Hunters)—who, having worked on Coraline and The Graveyard Book, is no stranger to adapting Neil Gaiman’s work—to adapt and co-write the comic series, while Scott Hampton (Hellboy, Batman) lends his illustrative skills to the complex world Gaiman created. Glenn Fabry (Preacher) and Adam Brown (Predator vs. Judge Dredd vs. Aliens) create the hauntingly beautiful cover art.

More recently we have been seeing images of the alternate covers being created by David Mack (Kabuki, Daredevil: End of Days).

All that these bits of news have done is whet our appetites even more to have these books in our hands to enjoy Neil’s story in another format.

Neil Gaiman's American GodsBut that’s not the end of the American Gods excitement. Remember, Starz is slated to air the new series beginning April 2017.

Why are we telling you all this since the announcements have been out for months? To remind you so that you have it on your radar and don’t miss out.

Originally published in 2001 by William Morrow and Headline, American Gods is a Hugo and Nebula Award–winning novel by Neil Gaiman (How to Talk to Girls at Parties, The Sandman). North American rights were acquired from Gaiman’s literary agent, Merrilee Heifetz at Writers House. American Gods is the latest Gaiman adaptation from Dark Horse, preceded by graphic novel adaptations of How to Talk to Girls at Parties, Troll Bridge, Forbidden Brides, and many more.

American Gods is a book I read years ago, and was among the first of Neil’s books that I ever read. Since then I eagerly await every new book from Neil as well as movies or television shows based on his properties.

If everything stays on track, March and April promise to be very exciting months for fans of American Gods and Neil Gaiman.

Comments are closed.